4 Paws Training Day 10

Another day has come and gone.  Everything has been going really good with Flo.  I believe she is getting more used to us.  She sleeps in Jordan’s bed with no issues even though Jordan is up and down in the bed all night.  Flo doesn’t care, she just lays there.  We have to continue to work on the seizure alerting more as Jordan has had a couple seizures while in the bed and when she doesn’t make the sound Flo doesn’t wake up.  This will take more time and practice at home until the scent Jordan releases, and her movements, during a seizure is predominant enough to wake Flo.

During training at the center we went over the basics again, but we learned a new trick….  Flo can “play dead” when shot with a finger or “using the force” like from Star Wars.  It’s awesome…  We also practiced more tracking today, this is my favorite part.  It’s kind of like rabbit hunting but with Jordan lol… jk  Then we went to the mall and worked on obedience again.  Flo did really good until we came to a couple of wig mannequins heads.  This freaked her out.  I guess if you think about it here is a dog that’s been around humans her whole life and then she walks up to a couple of heads!  After a few special treats and me touching them she got used to them and did Ok….but it was still funny

After the mall today we went to visit Ann’s college roommate and best friend Angie from Delaware Ohio.  They played in the band together at Cumberland College in Williamsburg Ky (University of the Cumberlands)  They had a great time catching up.

We have two more days and we’re finished!  I can’t believe how fast these two weeks have gone by!  We have learned so much and have much more to learn and practice while at home.

Tomorrow (Thursday) is Chloe Beth’s 6th birthday and we’re going to have a small party with the classmates.  Our hotel has a conference room they rent out for $150.00 but said since we’re with 4-Paws for Ability they would let us use it for her party for free!  I said cool, I can afford free!!  We’re just going to have some cake and ice cream and celebrate a princess’ birthday..  When we get home we will have another party for her with friends and family so she’s super excited.

We sure are missing home.  I’ve not seen a mountain in two weeks lol….I really miss our church family and can’t wait until I get behind my pulpit Sunday.  Keep praying for us that we may continue to retain the information we’ve received, for safety while here and travel mercy on the road Friday.

On a completely different note, I know I have many people who can and will pray for a request.  There is a girl in our class who has a seizure disorder who had to go to the hospital.  She’s in ICU as I type this.  Please pray for her and her family as I’m sure they’re scared being away from home.  They are from California and I’m sure it’s even harder being so far away from family and friends.

Until next time,

Blessings

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment